Jonathan LeCureux, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biology
Uses the following textbooks and other types of open educational resources in all the courses he teaches. As a result, Dr. LeCureux has saved his students an estimated total amount of 116,556.81 dollars!
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter.
"This book is used in 769 classrooms worldwide, saving students 23,560,590 dollars this school year. Learn more about OpenStax impact and how you can help."
EU Courses: BIOL235 Microbiology for Allied Health; BIOL335 Microbiology; BIOL338 Genetics.
Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts.
Courses: BIOL338 Genetics
This open text is disseminated via the Open Education Resource (OER) LibreTexts Project (https://LibreTexts.org). This book is openly licensed which allows you to make changes, save, and print this book. Instructors can adopt existing LibreTexts texts or Remix them to quickly build course-specific resources to meet the needs of their students. LibreTexts’ web based origins allow powerful integration of new technologies to support learning.
Courses: BIOL338 Genetics
This electronic book is aimed at helping students at all levels of biochemistry, the science that explains life at the molecular level, to learn in a fun and engaging format.
Courses: CHEM375 Biochemistry
"Biochemistry is an introductory course, designed for both biology and chemical engineering majors. A molecular simulation environment lets students explore the effect of molecular interactions on the biochemical properties of systems."
Courses: CHEM375 Biochemistry
ViralZone - resources provided by The SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics, an academicc non-profit organization, which offers a wide range of resources to the global life science community, most being open and accessible.
Courses: BIOL448 Virology; BIOL440 Immunology
iBiology - iBiology’s mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made. Our aim is to let you meet the leading scientists in biology and find out how they think about scientific questions and conduct their research.
Courses: BIOL437 Cell Biology
Deborah M. Gill, PhD, Professor Emeritus of Bible and Theology
and her graduate seminary students have created the first two openly licensed online textbooks published by the Assemblies of God Theological Seminary (AGTS):
The textbooks have been published and are freely available on the Open Educational Resources Commons (OERC) website.
Martin Mittelstadt, PhD, Professor of New Testament
Course: THEO 434: Pentecostal Foundations. So far he has saved his students an estimated amount of 768.00 dollars.
Michael Buesking, Associate Professor of Art
Uses a variety of open educational resources (OER), including Smarthistory, which makes the history of art accessible and engaging to more people, in more places, than any other publisher, and THE ART STORY.
ART102: Art History I Survey; ART103: Art History. So far he has saved his students around 11,520.00 dollars.
Dara Brannan, Assistant Professor of English, The Write Place Director
Uses Successful Writing in ENGL111-3
Nathan H. Nelson, PhD, Professor Emeritus of English
Uses a variety of open educational resources (OER):
Frankenstein: Annotated for Scientists, Engineers, and Creators of All Kinds, Ed. by Guston, Finn, and Robert in
ENGL212: Composition and Literary Analysis; ENGL302: English Literature Survey II. He has saved his students around 240 .00 dollars.
The Internet Archive - "a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more."
Courses in which this resource is used: ENGL212: Composition & Literary Analysis; ENGA455: Contemporary Literature for Helping Professions; ENGA 455: Contemporary Literature and the Environment.
Courses in which this resource is used: ENGL212: Composition & Literary Analysis and ENGL497 - Senior Seminar.
Romantic Circles - a refereed scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture, published by University of Colorado Boulder, used in ENGL212: Composition & Literary Analysis.
Voice of the Shuttle - a humanities scholarly website created at the University of California, Santa Barbara, which emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources, used in British Literature courses.
Vickie Wisdom, Professor of Theatre
Uses a variety of open access materials as assignments and supplemental materials in her course THTR 341: Costume Design.
Dr. Eveline Lewis, Associate Professor of Business, Business Department Chair
Uses Business Plan Development Guide, published by OpenPress.USASK.CA. This textbook "was designed with and for students wanting a practical and easy-to-follow guide for developing a business plan. It follows a unique format that both explains what to do and demonstrates how to do it." Course: MRKT 331: Marketing
Uses OpenStax - Principles of Macroeconomics, 2 e. in summer and fall online courses ECON 212: Principles of Macroeconomics.
Melinda Jamison-Shiels, Assistant Professor
Kevin King, PhD, Associate Professor
Uses The Lift Project, a free online educational program for his course "Wellness Proficiency."
Course: EXER 101. Since the launch of the course in Fall 2020 he has saved his students around 54,000.00 dollars.
Dianne Twigger, M.S., Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Uses OpenStax - Calculus v.1 - "Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration."
Uses OpenStax - Calculus v.2 - "Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates."
This book is used in 884 classrooms worldwide, saving students more than 27,350,000 dollars.
Learn about OpenStax impact and how you can help.
Uses Lumen Learning - affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials, which provide high quality, interactive learning content, online homework, and personalized feedback to help students study and learn more effectively.
Dianne has created her own customized resource based on the Lumen Online Homework Manager (OHM) materials for MATH210 Online Course. So far, she has saved her students in this course a total of 1875.00 dollars.
Dr. Don Tosh, Professor Emeritus of Mathematics
Uses An Introduction to Statistical Learning, 2nd ed., 2021 - This textbook "provides a broad and less technical treatment of key topics in statistical learning. Each chapter includes an R lab. It is appropriate for anyone who wishes to use contemporary tools for data analysis. The book has been translated into Chinese, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mongolian, Russian and Vietnamese."
Course: MATH448-2: Data Science. Dr. Tosh has saved his students an estimated amount of 770.00 dollars.
Julie Mayne, M.S., Assistant Professor of Biology
Uses OpenStax - Concepts of Biology, "designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy."
Nicholas Hestand, PhD, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Uses OpenStax - Chemistry: Atoms First. 2e., "a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association."
Courses: CHEM111 and CHEM112. So far he has saved his students around 22,000.00 dollars.
Michael Tenneson, PhD, Professor of Biology
Uses A Student’s Guide to Tropical Marine Biology, openly licensed textbook written by Keene State College Students, 2019.
Course: BIOL341: Marine Biology. He has saved his students 816.00 dollarts.
Lisa Street, M.S.W., Ed.D., L.C.S.W., Assistant Professor and Coordinator of Social Work Field Education
Uses OpenStax - Introduction to Sociology, 2e. The book "adheres to the scope and sequence of a typical, one-semester introductory sociology course. It offers comprehensive coverage of core concepts, foundational scholars, and emerging theories."
Course: SOCI 111-Introduction to Sociology
Bridger Falkenstein, Adjunct Professor
Uses OpenStax - Introduction to Sociology, 2e. in SOCI111: Introduction to Sociology course.
Preston Kness, Adjunct Professor of History
Uses a wide variety of open educational resources (OER) in the following courses:
HIST463 Special Topics: Navigating China; Navigating Islam; Navigating Latin America
Stephen Houseknecht, Assistant Professor of History
Uses a variety of open educational resources (OER) such as Avalon Project from Yale University - a repository for primary documents in law, history, and diplomacy for his History classes.
PAGE "EU & AGTS Adopters of OER" last updated: September 1st, 2022.