Evangel University Libraries: Open Access: Find OER

Catalogues & Search Engines

PressBooks Directory
This directory provides an index of 5000+ books published across 109 Pressbooks networks. Learn to use the Directory by taking a self-guided tour or reading our guide.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects. Peer-reviewed.
Google Advanced Search
Search content by usage rights. Choose "free to use, share or modify."

OER Commons

OER Commons - Advanced Search
Provides college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world. Content can be searched by level of education, subject area, material type, media format, and more.
OERC - Evangel University
OERC - MOBIUS Hub
Browse by subject or library members.
Open Textbooks HUB & MICROSITES
Find free, adaptable, openly licensed textbooks, full courses, and supplemental resources by SUBJECT and PROVIDER.

GALILEO: Open Learning Materials

GALILEO
"GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials."
more...less...
Browse by subject, author, institution, material type, and license type.
GALILEO: Ancillary Materials
Browse a plethora of ancillary materials in various subjects and formats that have been created since 2015 to present. Many of them are designed to accompany OpenStax textbooks.
Affordable Learning Georgia
"Affordable Learning Georgia (ALG) is a USG initiative to promote student success by supporting the implementation of affordable alternatives to expensive commercial textbooks, particularly Open Educational Resources (OER) and open textbooks such as OpenStax Textbooks, which are both free and customizable."
more...less...
Find textbooks, research, reports, statistics, and more.

OASIS - Search Engine for OER

LibreTexts

LibreTexts provides 300+ learning objects related to math, science, and social sciences, including textbooks, ancillary materials such as 3D visualizations and simulations, lab experiments, homework exercises, and course shells. Browse subjects from "Explore the Libraries" tab.

OER Remixer allows instructors to adapt and assemble texts drawing from content across the LibreTexts platform.
The platform also offers Print-on-Demand options.
Download Center
Importing LibreTexts into a LMS.
LibreTexts: YouTube - introductory overview presentation of the LibreTexts project (30-min) and video recordings from an online workshop to help new users of LibreTexts incorporate the Open Education Resource (OER) platform in their courses (Nov 4-6, 2020).
ADAPT - LibreTexts Adaptive Learning Assessment System

OER Repositories & Popular Collections

MERLOT
Online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System. Search the MERLOT collection, other libraries, the web. Search by ISBN number, materials and members. Note: Not all materials are openly licensed or free of charge. To search for these specifically, use the Advanced Search option and search by License -> Creative Commons.

VIDEO: What is MERLOT? (4:04 min)

Academic Disciplines Communities (of instructors). 24 discipline portals for teaching and learning - find materials by disciplines, journals and publications, professional organizations, showcases, and a lot more!

View Discipline Index - 10 major disciplines; search by subdisciplines, materials, members.

Course ePortfolios - filter by discipline

Learning Exercises - filter by discipline

ICT Literacy - an overview of ICT literacy integration into students' academic journey; practical resources to help faculty incorporate ICT literacy into their curriculum.

WISE - Women in Sustainable Employment

SkillsCommons - a digital library of Workforce Training Materials.

Teaching Commons
Brings together OER that have been curated throughout US colleges and universities. Browse publications by institution, subject area, type (textbooks, course sites, syllabi, lectures, course materials, etc.).
OpenStax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free textbooks for college introductory courses.
OpenStax Tech Scout
A NEW tool for searching textbooks and ancillary materials by advanced filters such as cost, adaptivity, app availability, assignment management, grading, verified by instructors, and more.
LUMEN Learning
Discover affordable, simple-to-adapt OER course materials that improve learning.
SUNY OER
Open ready-to-adopt textbooks curated by subject areas. All of them contain ancilllary materials and faculty resources.
BC Campus OpenEd
Open textbooks for the first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system. Searchable by "ancillary resources," "faculty reviewed" tags. Print-on-demand options available.
more...less...
Textbooks with ancillary resources: https://open.bccampus.ca/browse-our-collection/find-open-textbooks/?lists=ancillary
Open Course Library
A collection of expertly developed educational materials, including textbooks, course activities, readings, assessments in 80+ high-enrollment college courses.
Open Culture: Textbooks
Free textbooks (aka open textbooks) written by knowledgeable scholars are a relatively new phenomenon. Below, find a meta list of 200 Free Textbooks, and check back often for new additions.
Khan Academy
Practice exercises, instructional videos, and reference materials.
University of North Georgia
Textbooks and OER with focus on literature, history, art, music, American government, accounting.
GEORGE FOX UNIVERSITY - Open Textbooks
Mason OER Metafinder
Real-time federated search for OER content.

OER Catalogues & Courseware

NEW: Achieving the Dream OER Library
The open courses created by the colleges of the OER Degree Initiative. Browse by subject or college.
Open Ontario - Open Library
Textbooks can be searched by subjects, educator reviews, reported adoptions, ancillary resources, and more.
Open Oregon Educational Resources
A directory of openly published textbooks produced by members of Open Oregon.
Carnegie Mellon - Course Catalog
For Instructors. Use with class as textbook replacement or supplement.
Directory of Providers
A list of providers of low-cost and no-cost course materials used by campuses in California.
A list of content creation tools: LibreTexts, PressBooks, MERLOT, and more.
OER used in various Colleges and Universities
BookBoon (Business Skills)
Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-use online ebook platform.
more...less...
Subject areas: Management, Leadership & Strategy, Marketing & Sales, Economics & Finance, HRM, Statistics & Mathematics, and more.

OER by Material Type

University Videos
This Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities.
Open Education Consortium
OER can include full courses, textbooks, or any instructional materials. Search the collections assembled by the OE Consortium by: OER Repositories; Open Textbooks; Open CourseWare; Open Access Journals; Open Books; Digital Media.
Finding OER
Search by General OER Collections, Textbooks, Course Materials, Books and Journals, Image, Video, and Audio, and Primary Sources in this guide provided by East Tennessee State University Libraries.
XanEdu - Custom Book Catalog
Find a book to fit your course. Custom books authored by faculty at institutions around the world at affordable prices. Check the educators' resources, including options for publishing your own custom book, course pack, lab manual, and more.