Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books & eBooks from the EU and MOBIUS Libraries
Ancient Texts for New Testament Studies by One of the daunting challenges facing the New Testament interpreter is achieving familiarity with the immense corpus of Greco-Roman. Jewish, and pagan primary source materials. But achieving even an elementary acquaintance with this literature often requires years of experience of a photographic memory. Evans's dexterous survey--"a thoroughly revised and significantly expanded edition of his
Call Number: BS2530 .E93 2005
Publication Date: 2005-11-01
Biblical Exegesis in the Apostolic Period by The discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Nag Hammadi texts, and new Targums has left biblical scholars increasingly interested in the relationship between the New Testament and first-century Judaism. This critically acclaimed study by Richard Longenecker sheds fresh light on this relationship by exploring the methods the earliest Christians used to interpret the Old Testament. By comparing the first Christian writings with Jewish documents from the same period, Longenecker helps to discern some of the key differences between Christianity and Judaism. This second edition of Biblical Exegesis in the Apostolic Period brings Longenecker's valued work up to date with current research in this important field of study.
Call Number: BS500 .L66 1999
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
Biblical Interpretation at Qumran by The Dead Sea Scrolls are an invaluable source of information about Jewish biblical interpretation in antiquity. This volume by preeminent scholars in the field examines central aspects of scriptural interpretation as it was practiced at Qumran and discusses their implications for understanding the biblical tradition. While many of the forms of biblical interpretation found in the Scrolls have parallels elsewhere in Jewish literature, other kinds are original to the Scrolls and were unknown prior to the discovery of the caves. These chapters explore examples of biblical interpretation unique to Qumran, including legal exegesis and the Pesher. Readers will also find discussion of such fascinating subjects as the "rewritten Bible," views on the creation of humanity, the "Pseudo-Ezekiel" texts, the pesharim, and the prophet David. Contributors: Moshe J. Bernstein Shani Berrin Monica Brady George J. Brooke John J. Collins Peter W. Flint Matthias Henze Shlomo A. Koyfman Michael Segal James C. VanderKam
Call Number: BS1186 .B54 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-20
From the Maccabees to the Mishnah by In this new edition of a best-selling classic, Shaye Cohen offers a thorough analysis of Judaism's development from the early years of the Roman Empire to the formative period of rabbinic Judaism. Cohen's synthesis of religion, literature, and history offers deep insight into the nature of Judaism at this key period, including the relationship between Jews and Gentiles, the function of Jewish religion in the larger community, and the development of normative Judaism and other Jewish sects. In addition, Cohen provides clear explanations concerning the formation of the biblical canon and the roots of rabbinic Judaism. Now completely updated and revised, this book remains the clearest introduction to the era that shaped Judaism and provided the context for early Christianity. The Library of Early Christianity is a series of eight outstanding books exploring the Jewish and Greco-Roman contexts in which the New Testament developed.
Call Number: BM176 .C615 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-06
Isaiah in the New Testament by Isaiah in the New Testament brings together a set of specially commissioned studies by authors who are experts in their field. Beginning with an introductory chapter on the use of Isaiah in the Dead Sea Scrolls and Second Temple literature, contributors go on to discuss each of the New Testament books that contain quotations from Isaiah: Matthew, Mark, (Q), Luke-Acts, John, Romans and Galatians, 1 and 2 Corinthians, Hebrews, 1 Peter and Revelation. Together they provide an overview of the status, role and function of Isaiah in the first century, considering the Greek and Hebrew manuscript traditions and offering insights into the various hermeneutical stances of the New Testament authors and the development of New Testament theology. The volume includes contributions from Darrell Hannah, Morna Hooker, Christopher Tuckett, Richard Beaton, Bart Koet, Catrin Williams, J. Ross Wagner, Florian Wilk, Cecil McCullough, Steve Moyise and David Mathewson.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005-10-22
Readings from the First-Century World by
Call Number: BR167 .R43 1998
Publication Date: 1998-12-01
Readings from a variety of genres provide Bible readers with essential background information on the New Testament.
Fabricating Jesus by Modern historical study of the Gospels seems to give us a new portrait of Jesus every spring, just in time for Easter. The more idiosyncratic the portrait, the more it departs from the traditional view of Jesus, the more attention it gets in the popular media. Why are scholars so prone to fabricate Jesus? Why is the public so eager to accept their claims without question? What methods and assumptions predispose scholars to distort the record? Is there a more sober approach to finding the real Jesus? Renowned evangelical New Testament expert Craig A. Evans takes an evenhanded, informed approach to these fascinating and timely questions. Market/Audience Professors and students Pastors Thoughtful laypeople Features and Benefits Written by Craig A. Evans, widely known for his contributions to the study of the historical Jesus. Craig A. Evans is frequently consulted for television shows regarding the historical Jesus (Dateline, National Geographic special on the Gospel of Judas). Suggests right use and wrong use of critical methods, including text criticism, cultural studies and Gnostic Gospels. Offers a sober perspective on recent controversial books such as Misquoting Jesus, The Jesus Papers, The Jesus Dynasty and the Gospel of Judas.
Call Number: BT303.2 .E93 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
Will the Real Jesus Please Stand Up? by Based on a debate between John Dominic Crossan and William Lane Craig, this book provides a forum for evangelicals and members of the Jesus Seminar to dialogue.
Call Number: BT303.2 .C73 1998
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
Journal Articles from Databases (subscribed content)
Jewish Studies Source
Offers a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present. Includes full text.
Atla Religion Database
Major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Extensive indexing with some full text included as well.
ProQuest Research Library
A multidisciplinary database.
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text
Dissertations and Theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering fullt text for works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.