Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to MSS 643 Church Planting in Muslim Contexts course taught by Dr. Dick Brogden. This course provides a survey of the major ecclesiological options and their historical development. Principles for establishing evangelistic and discipleship ministries in Muslim societies are explored. Special attention is given to the unique process of establishing the church within an Islamic culture. On this page you will find the required books for the course, some of which are available in the EU Libraries. Those that are not, can be found on the WorldCat.org and requested via an Interlibrary Loan service (ILL). If you prefer to purchase the books, check the list of online bookshops compiled by a librarian.
Open Access: Books, eBooks, Articles, Media
Digital Theological Library
Curated high-quality free content in religious studies and related disciplines. Search for journal articles, eBooks, chapters, dissertations.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books and media. It also acts as a lending online library for books published after 1924. You need to open a FREE account to be able to loan books: https://archive.org/account/login.createaccount.php
Open Access articles from multiple journals and various disciplines.
Open Access Research Guide
For more open access (freely available online) content check out the EU Libraries Open Access (OA) research guide.
Databases (subscribed content)
ProQuest Research Library
A multidisciplinary database, which contains journal articles, dissertations & theses, videos & audio, conference papers, reports, and more. Of particular value for this course is the DISSERTATIONS & THESES section with multiple texts on church planting in Muslim contexts, check them out! Use your library credentials to access it.
Atla Religion Database
Major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States. Extensive indexing with some full text included as well.
EBSCO Ebook Collection (EMO)
More than 212,000 titles that represent a broad rand of academic subject matter.
Films on Demand - Master Academic Collection
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to educational videos from a variety of producers including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. The Master Academic Collection brings together approximately 44,000 videos and over 300,000 segmented clips from many areas of study, including health &medicine, humanities & social sciences, science & mathematics, business & economics, as well as archival films & newsreels.
The Spiritual Formation of Leaders by "The Spiritual Formation of Leaders" invites readers to deeper intimacy with Christ so, in Him, they will be empowered to enjoy rich community with one another and a life of fruitful ministry. (Christian)
Call Number: BV652.1 .M55 2007, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Any-3 by Mike Shipman, a Southern Baptist missionary in Asia, took a bold and biblical approach to reaching the millions of Muslims in his country. Drawn from the patterns established by Jesus with the Samaritan woman at the well in John 10, Mike Shipman demonstrates how these same principles are relevant and applicable today. The result is, Any-3: Anyone, Anywhere, Any Time, a highly effective and deeply biblical five-step process that has seen thousands of Muslims say "Yes" to Jesus and enter into new communities of faithful discipleship. Any-3 provides biblical principles and practical steps that have equipped hundreds of Christians to witness confidently and effectively. Over the past decade, thousands of Muslims have been engaged with the gospel. Within the first few years, Any-3 resulted in seven generations of Muslim-background churches planting churches, with more than a thousand baptized believers. Any-3 introduces Christians to a five-step process that helps them to 1) get connected with Muslims, 2) get to a God conversation, 3) get to lostness, 4) get to the gospel, and 5) get to a decision. Hundreds of Christians have learned to walk this path with Muslims, leading thousands of them to say "Yes" to Jesus and pray to receive him into their lives as Savior and Lord. Any-3 is truly revolutionizing Christian ministry to Muslims. Through this highly readable new resource, you too will learn how to share the gospel with Muslims and bring them into new discipleship communities.
Call Number: BP172 .S55 2013, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
T4t by In 2001, the Southern Baptist International Mission Board began tracking an Asia-based Church Planting Movement, a rapid multiplication of new church starts, that exceeded anything they had witnessed in the organization's 156-year history. By the end of the decade, this movement of God had seen 1.7 million baptisms and 150,000 new church starts. Ying Kai and his wife Grace, Chinese-American Southern Baptist missionaries, developed the outreach and church planting program called Training for Trainers or T4T as a means of addressing the overwhelming challenge of an unreached people group numbering tens of millions of lost souls. The Kais felt led of God to train multiplying generations of national partners who in turn would train generations of the same. In T4T: A Discipleship Re-Revolution fellow-Baptist missionary and author Steve Smith captures the story, principles, and spirit of Ying Kai's T4T. In this engaging 350-page book, Smith describes how God is at work in the fastest growing church-planting movement in the world today, and how its principles can be applied in your own ministry. T4T has already proven itself by adapting well to many other ministries, infusing them with reproducibility that enhances rather than competes with their own distinctive kingdom contribution. Learn more about T4T from its dedicated website www.T4TOnline.org.
Call Number: BV652.24 .S65x 2011, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
The Rise and Fall of Movements by
Call Number: Available in WorldCat. Request via ILL or find it in the nearest library by entering your zip code in "Enter your location" box.
Publication Date: 2019-05-16
A ministry is what you can do with the help of others. A movement is what God can do when you let go of control and multiply disciples and churches. Drawing on the life and ministry of Jesus, and with reflections on past and present movements, Steve Addison provides a roadmap for leaders who want to multiply disciples and churches to the ends of the earth. Whether pioneering on the edge, riding a wave of expansion, or stuck in suffocating decline, The Rise and Fall of Movements addresses each phase in the movement lifecycle, helping leaders identify their stage and align themselves with God's purposes. CONTENTS: Why movements rise and fall -- Birth: commit to the cause -- Growth: put the idea to work -- Maturity: enjoying the view -- Decline: self-interest rules -- Decay: existence on life support -- Rebirth: dry bones can live -- NoPlaceLeft: a case study.
Missiological Models in Ministry to Muslims by Based on the author's thesis (Th. M.) at Westminster Theological Seminary, Philadelphia, PA.
CONTENTS: The nineteenth-century imperial model--Five models of the twentieth century -- Qur'anic language and the Protestant Arabic Bible --Negative uses of Qur'anic phrases --Positive uses of Qur'anic phrases --A "new hermeneutic" in Qur'anic interpretation -- An islamicized church in Islamic culture -- The object of Christian mission to Islam -- The theological evaluation of religions -- The contextual/theological starting point -- The cross-cultural hermeneutical method --The church in Islamic culture: a Biblical theological model -- Appendix: church without walls and its meeting for better understanding model.
Call Number: Available in WorldCat. Request via ILL or find it in the nearest library by entering your zip code in "Enter your location" box.
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Additional Reading for PhD Candidates
Paradigms in Conflict by Drawing from Scripture, social sciences, and history, David J. Hesselgrave tackles the most pressing issues facing missionaries today.The author and contributors show how theological issues have real impact on missions, and they present arguments on both sides of the fifteen subjects of debate while also offering their own biblically informed perspectives on the subjects. Despite rapid global changes, Hesselgrave determines that much of traditional theory, practice, and theology is still valid, if not essential, for the future of Christian missions.Current and prospective missionaries, pastors, seminary students, missions committee members, and laypeople interested in world Christianity will all benefit from the discussions covered in this book: * Sovereignty and free will: An impossible mix or a perfect match? * Common ground and enemy territory: How should we approach adherents of other faiths? * Business as mission: When is it mission and when is it not? * Harvest missions and pioneer missions: Discipling the masses or reaching to the margins?This updated and expanded edition includes five more questions along with new applications and reflections on the original ten questions.
Call Number: BV2063 .H438 2018, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Planting Churches in Muslim Cities by A biblically and culturally appropriate blueprint for church planting in Muslim cities anywhere in the world. The experiences of one hundred missionaries provide a guide to evangelizing and discipling.
Call Number: BV2625 .L585 1993, in EU Libraries
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Muslim Evangelism by Too long the church has been programmed to accept the inevitabilities of meager results in the efforts toward Muslim evangelization. The reasons for this failure in mission must now be probed and resolved as the world today is coming alive to the presence of the Muslim religious community. The author asks the missions world to forsake former presuppositions and to become conscious of God speaking in a new and fresh mannernot in regard to His changeless Wordbut in areas of extra-biblical methodology.
Call Number: BV2625 .P37 2003, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
From Seed to Fruit by CONTENTS: Global trends : soils, seed, sowers and first fruits -- Assessing the soils -- Unploughed ground -- The imperishable seed -- Sowers from the global south -- Sister sowers and gatherers -- First fruits and future harvests -- Fruitful practices : sowing, watering, gathering, reproducing -- Introduction to fruitful practices -- Sowing (witnessing) -- Watering (discipling) -- Gathering (reproducing fellowships) -- Equipping stewards (leadership development) -- Gathering laborers (team building) -- Emerging issues : birds, rocks, sun, thorns, and good soil -- Factors which influence the type of incarnational identity that -- Jesus followers choose -- Factors which facilitate communities of believers leading to movements -- How and why of communicating the Bible in stories -- Keys to fruitful joint ministry between national (MBB) -- Leaders and fellowship partners -- Jesus followers and funding -- Islamism and receptivity to Jesus -- Use of the Qur'an -- Implications for witness of folk beliefs and practices -- Developing fruitful teams -- Beyond tentmaking in a post 9/11 world -- The roles of suffering and martyrdom -- Recapturing a missiology of suffering.
Call Number: BV2625 .F75 2008, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Open Access Article (recommended)
Corwin Gary. A Humble Appeal to C5/Insider Movement Muslim Ministry Advocates to Consider Ten Questions. International Journal of Frontier Missions 24, no.1 (Spring 2007): 5-21.
Christian Jihad by Two former Muslims examine the impact of Christian atrocities on modern personal and cultural interaction, question popular views of just war, and challenge us to face our past and redeem our future.
Call Number: BT736.2 .C27 2004, in Kendrick library
Publication Date: 2004-05-27
Who Speaks for Islam? by Based on the largest study of its kind, this book is the first to present the fascinating findings of the Gallup Poll of the Muslim World. Are we on the verge of an all-out war between the West and 1.3 billion Muslims? When the media searches for an answer to that question, they usually overlook the actual views of the world's Muslims. Who Speaks for Islam? is about this silenced majority. This book is the product of the Gallup World Poll's massive, multiyear research study. As part of this groundbreaking project, Gallup conducted tens of thousands of interviews with residents of more than 35 nations that are predominantly Muslim or have significant Muslim populations. Gallup posed questions that are on the minds of millions: Is Islam to blame for terrorism? Why is there so much anti-Americanism in the Muslim world? Who are the extremists? Where are the moderates? What do Muslim women really want? Grounded in Gallup World Poll data, not in contentious rhetoric, Who Speaks for Islam? brings data-driven evidence -- the voices of a billion Muslims, not those of individual "experts" or "extremists"-- to one of the most heated and consequential debates of our time.
Call Number: BP161.3 .E87 2007
Publication Date: 2008-02-25
Islam and the West by Hailed in The New York Times Book Review as "the doyen of Middle Eastern studies," Bernard Lewis has been for half a century one of the West's foremost scholars of Islamic history and culture, the author of over two dozen books, most notably The Arabs in History, The Emergence of ModernTurkey, The Political Language of Islam, and The Muslim Discovery of Europe. Eminent French historian Robert Mantran has written of Lewis's work: "How could one resist being attracted to the books of an author who opens for you the doors of an unknown or misunderstood universe, who leads you withinto its innermost domains: religion, ways of thinking, conceptions of power, culture--an author who upsets notions too often fixed, fallacious, or partisan."In Islam and the West, Bernard Lewis brings together in one volume eleven essays that indeed open doors to the innermost domains of Islam. Lewis ranges far and wide in these essays. He includes long pieces, such as his capsule history of the interaction--in war and peace, in commerce andculture--between Europe and its Islamic neighbors, and shorter ones, such as his deft study of the Arabic word watan and what its linguistic history reveals about the introduction of the idea of patriotism from the West. Lewis offers a revealing look at Edward Gibbon's portrait of Muhammad inDecline and Fall of the Roman Empire (unlike previous writers, Gibbon saw the rise of Islam not as something separate and isolated, nor as a regrettable aberration from the onward march of the church, but simply as a part of human history); he offers a devastating critique of Edward Said'scontroversial book, Orientalism; and he gives an account of the impediments to translating from classic Arabic to other languages (the old dictionaries, for one, are packed with scribal errors, misreadings, false analogies, and etymological deductions that pay little attention to the evolution ofthe language). And he concludes with an astute commentary on the Islamic world today, examining revivalism, fundamentalism, the role of the Shi'a, and the larger question of religious co-existence between Muslims, Christians, and Jews.A matchless guide to the background of Middle East conflicts today, Islam and the West presents the seasoned reflections of an eminent authority on one of the most intriguing and little understood regions in the world.
Call Number: DS63.2.E8 L47 1993, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 1994-10-27
Islam and the West by Hailed in The New York Times Book Review as "the doyen of Middle Eastern studies," Bernard Lewis has been for half a century one of the West's foremost scholars of Islamic history and culture, the author of over two dozen books, most notably The Arabs in History, The Emergence of Modern Turkey, The Political Language of Islam, and The Muslim Discovery of Europe. Eminent French historian Robert Mantran has written of Lewis's work: "How could one resist being attracted to the books of an author who opens for you the doors of an unknown or misunderstood universe, who leads you within to its innermost domains: religion, ways of thinking, conceptions of power, culture--an author who upsets notions too often fixed, fallacious, or partisan."In Islam and the West, Bernard Lewis brings together in one volume eleven essays that indeed open doors to the innermost domains of Islam. Lewis ranges far and wide in these essays. He includes long pieces, such as his capsule history of the interaction--in war and peace, in commerce and culture--between Europe and its Islamic neighbors, and shorter ones, such as his deft study of the Arabic word watan and what its linguistic history reveals about the introduction of the idea of patriotism from the West. Lewis offers a revealing look at Edward Gibbon's portrait of Muhammad in Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire (unlike previous writers, Gibbon saw the rise of Islam not as something separate and isolated, nor as a regrettable aberration from the onward march of the church, but simply as a part of human history); he offers a devastating critique of Edward Said's controversial book, Orientalism; and he gives an account of the impediments to translating from classic Arabic to other languages (the old dictionaries, for one, are packed with scribal errors, misreadings, false analogies, and etymological deductions that pay little attention to the evolution of the language). And he concludes with an astute commentary on the Islamic world today, examining revivalism, fundamentalism, the role of the Shi'a, and the larger question of religious co-existence between Muslims, Christians, and Jews.A matchless guide to the background of Middle East conflicts today, Islam and the West presents the seasoned reflections of an eminent authority on one of the most intriguing and little understood regions in the world.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
From Babel to Dragomans by Bernard Lewis is recognized around the globe as one of the leading authorities on Islam. Hailed as "the world's foremost Islamic scholar" (Wall Street Journal), as "a towering figure among experts on the culture and religion of the Muslim world" (Baltimore Sun), and as "the doyen of Middle Eastern studies" (New York Times), Lewis is nothing less than a national treasure, a trusted voice that politicians, journalists, historians, and the general public have all turned to for insight into the Middle East.Now, this revered authority has brought together writings and lectures that he has written over four decades, featuring his reflections on Middle Eastern history and foreign affairs, the Iranian Revolution, the state of Israel, the writing of history, and much more. The essays cover such urgent and compelling topics as "What Saddam Wrought," "Deconstructing Osama and His Evil Appeal," "The Middle East, Westernized Despite Itself," "The Enemies of God," and "Can Islam Be Secularized?" The collection ranges from two English originals of articles published before only in foreign languages, to previously unpublished writings, to his highly regarded essays from publications such as Foreign Affairs and The New York Review of Books. With more than fifty pieces in all, plus a new introduction to the book by Lewis, this is a valuable collection for everyone interested in the Middle East.Here then is a rich repository of wisdom on one of the key areas of the modern world--a wealth of profound reflections on Middle Eastern history, culture, politics, and current events.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
The Unseen Face of Islam by This book is a detailed and comprehensive look at the thoughts and experience of the average Muslim and is designed to help develop a workable evangelistic strategy.
Call Number: BV2625 .M87 2003, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2004-06-09
Muslims, Magic and the Kingdom of God by This book combines a description of folk Islam, biblical perspectives, and strategies for church planting among Muslims. In his theory on Muslim evangelism, Love tackles the major issues of encountering spiritual powers, contextualization, and leadership development. Teachers of Islamic subjects and practitioners in Muslim countries enthusiastically welcome this book.
Call Number: BV2625 .L68 2000, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2000-06-01
Kissing Cousins? by Through the years, Islam and Christianity have experienced serious conflicts, and current differences are presenting new challenges. In this powerful book filled with striking insights, author Bill Musk unravels misconceptions and seeks to change mistaken views for the better.
Call Number: BP172 .M82 2005, in AGTS library
Publication Date: 2006-04-11