Welcome to MCC 545 Engaging Islam: An Introduction, a course taught by Dr. Sobhi Malek. This is an introductory course, which provides "an overview of the historical beginnings and development of Islam with emphasis on both creed and practice. Special attention is given to Christian witness to Muslims and the planting of the Church among them."
On this page you will find the required and recommended books for the course, which are available in the EU Libraries. Consult the syllabus for the full list of course readings. The books, which are not available in the EU Libraries, can be found on the WorldCat.org and requested via an Interlibrary Loan service (ILL). If you prefer to purchase the books, check the list of online bookshops compiled by a librarian, where you can find the best bargain, which in most cases will be cheaper than Amazon. This course page also provides links to OPEN ACCESS (free online) resources (ebooks, articles, media, and more).
Islamic exodus : into the freedom of Christ by 
Hearts of Fire by
Eight women from eight different countries shared similar experiences of hardship and persecution, all for their faith in Christ. Yet they all emerged from adversity as heroines. From the young Vietnamese girl who turned down freedom in order to share the gospel in her Communist homeland, to the Australian missionary who spread the message of forgiveness and healing across India after her husband and sons were burned alive, these women overcame Extreme adversity to become leaders and ministers of the underground church in Pakistan, India, Romania, the former Soviet Union, China, Vietnam, Nepal and Indonesia.
Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus by
Many Westerners are confused about Islam, somewhat fearful of Muslims, or simply uninformed about the relationship between the Islamic and Christian faiths. In turn, many Muslims are hindered by cultural, intellectual, and theological barriers from understanding, or even rightly hearing, the gospel of Jesus Christ.In Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus, former devout Muslim Nabeel Qureshi describes his dramatic journey from Islam to Christianity, complete with the friendships, investigations, and dreams and visions he encountered along the way.Throughout his story Qureshi provides a compassionate yet powerful apologetic for Christianity over Islam, with an emphasis on relationships and love. Appendices by popular scholars and experts provide further information for Muslims to consider and for Christians to reference in spiritual discussions with Muslim friends.Engaging as a story and useful as an apologetic resource, Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus introduces readers to a powerful story of the clash between Islam and Christianity in one man's heart and of the peace he eventually found in Jesus.
Captive in Iran by
Embark on a chilling journey inside one of the world's darkest and most dangerous places: Evin, the notorious Tehran prison. Here, prisoners are routinely tortured, abused, and violated. Executions are frequent and sudden. But for two women imprisoned for their Christian faith--Maryam Rostampour and Marziyeh Amirizadeh--this hell on earth was a place of unlikely grace as they reflected God's love and compassion to their fellow prisoners and guards. Against all odds, Evin would become the only church many of them had ever known.In Captive in Iran, Maryam and Marziyeh recount their 259 days in Evin. It's an amazing story of unyielding faith--when denying God would have meant freedom. Of incredible support from strangers around the world who fought for the women's release. And of bringing God's light into one of the world's darkest places--giving hope to those who had lost everything, and showing love to those in despair.
From Cairo to Christ by
"If I were to become a Christian, it would mean not only changing my religion but changing my whole identity and bringing shame upon my family. My whole family is Muslim, and my society and culture were Muslim. . . . Changing from Islam to Christianity would mess up my life forever."So writes Abu Atallah, who grew up in Cairo as an ordinary Egyptian Muslim. He was deeply embedded in his family, religion, and country. For a time he was part of the Muslim Brotherhood. But as he came of age, he began to encounter people who followed a different way, who called themselves Christians. And a radically new life became possible--at great cost and risk, yet with great joy.From Cairo to Christ is the remarkable story of how one Muslim man was drawn to the Christian faith, and how he later became an ambassador for Christ with a ministry in the Muslim world. Atallah has personally helped hundreds of Muslims come to Christ. This narrative sheds light on Islamic cultural dynamics and what Westerners should know about Muslim contexts. Despite the challenges facing believers from Muslim backgrounds, God is bringing surprising numbers of Muslims to Christ. Discover how the good news of Jesus transforms lives in Muslim communities around the world.
Dreams and Visions by
What would you do if Jesus appeared to you in a dream and told you to follow Him What if these visions continued for over thirty days And what if you were Muslim Pastor Tom Doyle has spent eleven years as a full-time missionary in the Middle East and Central Asia, spreading the word of Jesus Christ. Throughout his journey he has encountered a staggering number of Muslims who were first introduced to Jesus through a vision or dream so powerful that they eventually turned from their lifelong religion of Islam and embraced Christ as their Savior. Despite living in a culture where converting to Christianity can result in execution, these former Muslims have found hope, peace, and inspiration that comes from knowing Christ. Their stories will amaze you. Jesus is reaching out to Muslims and they are responding--and Iran has the fastest growing Christian church in the world. Dreams and Visions is a remarkable collection of stories directly from the world of Islam, discussing the questions: Why would God use dreams to reach the Muslim world Can dreams and visions be trusted What happens after these dreams or visions occur Travel to the heart of the Middle East to meet new believers who have truly been touched by Jesus in the most miraculous way: through dreams.
A Wind in the House of Islam by
A Wind in the House of Islam investigates the phenomenon of millions of Muslims who are turning to faith in Jesus Christ today. Over the course of Islamic history tens of millions of Christians were absorbed into the House of Islam. But what about the opposite? Have there ever been movements of Muslim communities who voluntarily turned to Jesus Christ and were baptized? The first 13 centuries of Islam's history saw only three movements numbering at least a thousand Muslims turning to Christianity, apart from those that were coerced through wars, Crusades and Inquisitions. Today, the story is changing. Over the past two decades there have been 69 additional movements of Muslims to Christ scattered across the Muslim world from West Africa to Indonesia. In an unprecedented global survey, Dr. David Garrison, Ph.D. University of Chicago, traveled a quarter-million miles throughout the House of Islam to find out why and how this is happening today. His research took him into every corner of the Muslim world where he gathered more than a thousand interviews of Muslim-background followers of Jesus Christ. His core question: What did God use to bring you to faith in Jesus Christ? A Wind in the House of Islam reveals their stories, and David Garrison's journey through all nine Rooms in the House of Islam, where he discovered that the Wind of God's Spirit is blowing through every one of them. A Wind in the House of Islam is a 328-page book written in an engaging style, but also includes a glossary of Islamic terms, a bibliography for further reading, endnotes, 11 maps with data tables of Muslim populations, 46 photographs, and excerpts from more than a thousand interviews. Each of the book's 15 chapters conclude with discussion questions to facilitate small group dialogue and discovery. Learn more about the book at: www.WindintheHouse.org
Concise Encyclopaedia of Islam by
The Concise Encyclopedia of Islamis a mandatory reference tool that will prove to be indispensable for students of all subjects which concern, or touch on, the religion and law of Islam. It includes all the articles contained in the first edition and supplement of the Encyclopedia of Islamwhich are particularly related to the religion and law of Islam.This volume has a vast geographical and historical scope which includes the old Arabo-Islamic Empire, the Islamic states of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and the various Muslim states and communities in Africa, Europe, and the former U.S.S.R.The Concise Encyclopedia of Islamcontains an extensive index and bibliography.This publication has also been published in hardback, please click herefor details.
Price of Honor by
The author of Caught in the Crossfire, an account of three months with freedom fighters in Afghanistan, now offers a stunning book that takes readers into the volatile heartland of Islam, where Muslim women speak out about the increasingly oppressive politics that govern their lives. A list of horrors almost past belief.--The New Yorker.
Sold by
Zana Muhsen, born and bred in Birmingham, is of Yemeni origin. When her father told her she was to spend a holiday with relatives in North Yemen, she jumped at the chance. Aged 15 and 13 respectively, Zana and her sister discovered that they had been literally sold into marriage, and that on their arrival they were virtually prisoners. They had to adapt to a completely alien way of life, with no running water, dung-plastered walls, frequent beatings, and the ordeal of childbirth on bare floors with only old women in attendance. After eight years of misery and humiliation Zana succeeded in escaping, but her sister is still there, and it seems likely that she will now never leave the country where she has spent more than half her life. This is an updated edition of Zana's account of her experiences.
The Torn Veil by
A Muslim girl imprisoned by her religion, her strict upbringing, her womanhood and her severe disability is set free by God. The Torn Veil, the classic true-life story of Gulshan Esther, was first published in 1984 and has sold over 200,000 copies worldwide.
Princess by
Sultana is a Saudi Arabian princess, a woman born to fabulous, uncountable wealth. She has four mansions on three continents, her own private jet, glittering jewels, designer dresses galore. But in reality she lives in a gilded cage. She has no freedom, no control over her own life, no value but as a bearer of sons. Hidden behind her black floor-length veil, she is a prisoner, jailed by her father, her husband, her sons, and her country.Sultana is a member of the Saudi royal family, closely related to the king. For the sake of her daughters, she has decided to take the risk of speaking out about the life of women in her country, regardless of their rank. She must hide her identity for fear that the religous leaders in her country would call for her death to punish her honesty. Only a woman in her position could possibly hope to escape from being revealed and punished, despite her cloak and anonymity.Sultana tells of her own life, from her turbulent childhood to her arranged marriage--a happy one until her husband decided to displace her by taking a second wife--and of the lives of her sisters, her friends and her servants. Although they share affection, confidences and an easy camaraderie within the confines of the women's quarters, they also share a history of appaling oppressions, everyday occurrences that in any other culture would be seen as shocking human rights violations; thirteen-year-old girls forced to marry men five times their age, young women killed by drowning, stoning, or isolation in the women's room, a padded, windowless cell where women are confined with neither light nor conversation until death claims them.By speaking out, Sultana risks bringing the wrath of the Saudi establishment upon her head and te heads of her children. But by telling her story to Jean Sasson, Sultana has allowed us to see beyond the veils of this secret society, to the heart of a nation where sex, money, and power reign supreme.
Not the Same God by 